October Wrap up and November TBR!!!

Wrap up

1. Burial rites by Hannah Kent

2. A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallero

3. A very Large Expanse Of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

4.Pride by Ibi Zoboi

5. The Odd One Out by Nic Stone

6. The Boneless Mercies

TBR

November brings a lot of books I am excited about! Mainly A Ladies Guide to Petticoats and Piracy!!

Let me know what you’ve been reading and what your excited about…….

Advertisements

The Odd One Out by Nic Stone- Review!!!

Synopsis

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes this illuminating exploration of old friendships, new crushes, and the path to self-discovery. Told in three voices, Nic Stone’s new book is sure to please fans of Becky Albertalli, Nicola Yoon, and Jason Reynolds.

Courtney “Coop” Cooper

Dumped. Again. And normally I wouldn’t mind. But right now, my best friend and source of solace, Jupiter Sanchez, is ignoring me to text some girl.

Rae Evelyn Chin

I assumed “new girl” would be synonymous with “pariah,” but Jupiter and Courtney make me feel like I’m right where I belong. I also want to kiss him. And her. Which is . . . perplexing.

Jupiter Charity-Sanchez

The only thing worse than losing the girl you love to a boy is losing her to your boy. That means losing him, too. I have to make a move. . . .

One story.

Three sides.

No easy answers.

Review!!!

This book was really powerful. It’s the perfect awkward teenage love story. It talks about questioning your sexual identity and about identity and finding out who you are.

I really loved all these characters and felt like I wanted to protect them, as this book discusses their most vulnerable moments and periods of life.

Golly the gentile giant and Brit were honestly my favourites characters they were so funny and I loved reading scenes with them. Brah

“Did you not hear her say no labels fit? If she doesn’t

wanna use one, she doesn’t have to. It’s her life. She can love whoever the hell she wants to.”

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Nic Stone has a lovely way with words and her writing flows and reads so perfectly. I really enjoy her books and am very excited to read whatever she writes next.

I recommend this book to fans of Nic Stone fans of Holly Bourne and maybe fans of John Green.

Let me know your thoughts ………….

Pride by Ibi Zoboi- Review!!!

Synopsis

Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny, gorgeous retelling of the classic, starring all characters of color, from Ibi Zoboi, National Book Award finalist and author of American Street.

Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable.

When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with their two teenage sons, even as her older sister, Janae, starts to fall for the charming Ainsley. She especially can’t stand the judgmental and arrogant Darius. Yet as Zuri and Darius are forced to find common ground, their initial dislike shifts into an unexpected understanding.

But with four wild sisters pulling her in different directions, cute boy Warren vying for her attention, and college applications hovering on the horizon, Zuri fights to find her place in Bushwick’s changing landscape, or lose it all.

In a timely update of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, critically acclaimed author Ibi Zoboi skillfully balances cultural identity, class, and gentrification against the heady magic of first love in her vibrant reimagining of this beloved classic.

Review!

I loved this book! I am a fan of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice so was very excited for this retelling. I loved Zuri as a character she was so fierce and strong, she new what she thought and she was confident. I really love how Ibi Zoboi creates strong female characters. Her family in this book were amazing! They all loved each other so much and they all cared about each other. I loved reading about the Benitez family. Darius Darcy was a perfect flawed very human character, he was very kind and relatable because of his easy going character.

I really loved this book and highly recommend it!

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A Very Large Expanse Of Sea by Tahereh Mafi- Review!!!

Summary

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature!

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series comes a powerful, heartrending contemporary novel about fear, first love, and the devastating impact of prejudice.

It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped.

Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.

But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

Review!!

This Book is beautiful completely and utterly beautiful. Tahereh Mafi is a beautiful writer, this story made me happy, made me sad, made me angry and made me think. The story seemed to flow it was written perfectly and I loved every second of it.

The way this book talks about racism is raw, it’s not really about racism but about the effects of it, how it makes Shirin feel, and what it means to her.

“I didn’t understand how anyone could be so violently angry with me for something I hadn’t done”

She was such a human character it shocked me. It’s rare to read a book and think, ‘that’s a person’ I felt like I was watching this happen to her. I felt I was watching her story. I felt like I was helplessly watching her story, her discussions, other people’s actions.

“Everything about me-my face, my fashion- had become political.”

I loved her family and her relationship with them it again felt so real. I really liked her brother and his friends everybody needs a big group of breakdancing boys to help them out. I loved Ocean. And I thought their relationship was beautifully poignant.

“Just try to be happy,” Jacobi finally said to me. “Your happiness is the one thing these assholes can’t stand.”

I recommend this book to everybody. No matter your race, religion or views. As I have said this book is beautiful and ultimately a love story. I loved this book and am so glad it exists. I can see it empowering young women and girls all over the globe. This book is powerful.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro- Review!!!

Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She’s inherited Sherlock’s volatility and some of his vices—and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she’s not looking for friends.

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

Review!!

I didn’t like this book. I felt like I was reading fan fiction. It read very poorly. I didn’t feel anything towards the main characters, they were unlikable. I felt the story was bland, yes it was clever but it didn’t have any other wow factors. I have heard some really great reviews for this book so was really disappointed when it wasn’t very good. Might just not be my kind of books, but I usually love mysteries and thought this would be right up my street.

I didn’t like Jamie and Charlotte. I felt Jamie was very 2D he had no depth or opinions really. Charlotte wasn’t a copy of Sherlock she was just rude.

Sorry to fans of this book, it wasn’t for me

⭐️⭐️

Burial Rights by Hanna Kent- Review!!!

Summary

SHORTLISTED FOR THE STELLA PRIZE AND THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2014

“Burial Rites is beautiful and compelling . . . it’s the announcement of a writer to watch.” Guardian

“A gripping tale.” New York Times

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of two men.

Agnes is sent to wait on the farm of District Officer Jon Jonsson and his family, who are horrified and avoid Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant reverend appointed as Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the summer months fall away to winter, Agnes’s story begins to emerge. And as the days to her execution draw closer, the question burns: did she or didn’t she?

Based on a true story, Burial Rites is a deeply moving novel about freedom and the ways we will risk everything for love. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, and asks: how can one woman endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Fans of Anna Funder’s All That I Am and Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist will love Burial Rites.

PRAISE FOR HANNAH KENT

“An outstandingly good debut . . . I found myself spellbound . . . Kent has done a great deal of research and transformed its results into a work of art.” Literary Review

Review!!

This book is fantastical, it is written so beautifully you feel everything the characters do. I feel this is one of those books it’s better to not really know about when reading so this will be short! Just know it’s completely fabulous and gorgeous. It really is.

The descriptions of the settings in this book are picture perfect I felt like I was standing looking around. The story is really interesting and I was hooked from the first page. All the characters are great in there own ways and the writer makes sure they all have their own voices.

Ultimately this is an amazing mystery, full of suspense, question and beauty.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

September Wrap Up and October TBR

Wrap Up

1. The Miseducation Of Cameron Post by Emily E Danforth

2. An Inspector Calls by JB Priestly

3.Bossypants by Tina Fey

4.Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

5.Save the Date by Morgan Matson

TBR

There are so many books I am excited for this month ! At the top of my list though is Odd One out by Nic Stone ! I read her last book and loved it and this new book sounds amazing and I can’t wait to get my paws on it! Another book I’m looking forward to is Pride by Ibi Zoboi! I can’t wait for this booook! I am also very excited for A very large expanse of sea by Tahereh Mafi!